top of page

Language Acquisition and Mobile-Assisted Language Learning Systems (MALLS)

Cultural Competency and Language Acquisition

Cultural competency and language acquisition go hand in hand because you can't truly understand the other without one. Nowadays, there are many ways to communicate and learn languages; however, the chances of being culturally competent decrease without cultural exchange. A way to incorporate both is through telecollaboration. With this, language learners can interact with each other while learning their respective languages and enhance their comprehension of another culture (Lenkaitis, et al., 2019). Mobile-assisted language learning systems (MALLS) can help with this cultural exchange by creating an out-of-class experience (Solodka, et al., 2022). However, volition is required when using these applications since they are primarily self-regulated. As instructional designers, it would be best to keep all options open and employ blended learning techniques by using telecollaboration and MALLS to balance learning linguistically and culturally. Tailoring a learning opportunity that can be used interchangeably would hugely benefit learners in and outside the classroom.


Community Engagement and Cultural Exchange

When learning a language, it is best to have some interaction with real people who speak the language natively. MALLS are good at motivating you, but cultural exchange is also necessary. In apps like Duolingo, there is no real community engagement option within the app besides its gamified nature of competing against other learners. As instructional designers, using MALLS should not be the endpoint or the only option. Developing lessons that call for multiple pedagogies to be combined into some form of blended learning can be used to facilitate cultural exchange. Such a method could cover all aspects needed to enhance community engagement and cultural exchange. Critical pedagogy can be used in a cultural exchange as it helps the native speaker to become aware of the complexity of their culture and the issues surrounding it while also helping language learners become aware of those same social issues and difficulties of those who speak the language they are learning (Parra, 2013).


Language Learning Apps

Throughout my years of studying Chinese, no one app did everything I needed it to do. However, two apps gave me enough of what I needed: Chinese and Duolingo. Chineasy is suitable for bringing characters to life by allowing you to connect visually to the characters and their meaning. This app can help with reading and writing characters, a task most Chinese language learners find challenging when learning the language.



On the other hand, Duolingo is useful for speaking, grammar, and listening. Apps can help a lot to get you started, but once again, interacting with a real person who speaks the language natively will be more precise regarding the meanings of words. As mentioned in the video below, these MALLS often only require you to listen and repeat, not giving you a chance to experiment and practice creating sentences on your own from what you learned.


Sometimes, I would try to experiment with my Chinese friends using the new words I had learned from the app in a sentence and would be told that it was incorrect, proving the limitations of MALLS, which are not one hundred percent accurate. Studies have shown that using MALLS contributes to learners' willingness to continue studying with the application because of its gamified nature and easy-to-use functions (Gafni et al., 2017). MALLS successfully keeps the learner engaged and enhances the desire to continue learning.


Cultural Experience in China

During my time in China, I was an ESL teacher. Sure, I did what just about every person going to a foreign country does: research. However, there wasn't a lot of accurate information about China that wasn't clouded by stereotypes. I even picked up some survival language before getting there. My first two years in China were where I got the most cultural experience. I was teaching adults, and the hospitality of my students introduced me to Chinese culture. To practice their English, they would attempt to explain their different holidays and practices from the vocabulary they already had. At the same time, I talked about the culture and practices of African Americans, which are entirely different from what they are used to seeing in American films.

One year, I was invited to a coworker's hometown to spend time with her and her family during the Spring Festival (Chinese New Year). This is where I learned about a common practice during this time: the giving of 红包 (hóngbāo), which means red packet in Mandarin. The older family members put money in these red packets and give the packets to the younger generation. This experience allowed me to see the familial part of the culture. It was also a time to practice what little Chinese I knew to communicate since most of her family didn't speak English. Most of the time, I practiced my listening and comprehension skills rather than my speaking skills. This was during a time when I wasn't confident with my speaking skills and didn't have a complete understanding of the tones within the language. Ultimately, I became culturally competent through my experiences in China, allowing me to cater my lessons to their culture by employing culturally relevant pedagogy.


References

Lenkaitis, C. A., Calo, S., & Venegas Escobar, S. (2019). Exploring the intersection of language and culture via telecollaboration: Utilizing videoconferencing for intercultural competence development. International Multilingual Research Journal, 13(2), 102-115. https://doi.org.oclc.fullsail.edu/10.1080/19313152.2019.1570772


Gafni, R., Achituv, D. B., & Rachmani, G. J. (2017). Learning Foreign Languages Using Mobile Applications. Journal of Information Technology Education: Research, 16, 301-317.


Parra, M. L. (2013). Expanding Language and Cultural Competence in Advanced Heritage-and Foreign-Language Learners through Community Engagement and Work with the Arts. Heritage Language Journal, 10(2), 253-280. https://doi.org/10.46538/hlj.10.2.7


Solodka, A., Ruckulis, L., Demianenko, D., & Zaskaleta, S. (2022). MALL Instructional Course Design: Constructing Out-of-Class Experience. Arab World English Journal Special Issue on CALL, (8) 40-55. https://dx.doi.org/10.24093/awej/call8.3

28 views4 comments

4 Comments


Heidi Bromund
May 18

The blog Language Acquisition and Mobile-Assisted Language Systems explores how these systems, shortened as MALLS, can help with learning a language but also engaging with the cultural side needed to fully grasp communication in another culture. Reading about the apps and social experiences the author had in learning Chinese made me see similarities in MOOCs, Massive Open Online Course. Both have aspects of motivational learning that we will explore.

 

Volitional to Learn

“Motivation to learn is promoted and maintained when learners employ volitional (self-regulatory) strategies to protect their intentions (Keller & Deimann, 2018, p. 81). As found in the Keller and Deimann text, applying volitional strategies includes comparing the learners motivation before and after (2018). In the study Examining Motivation…

Like

ARTrujillo
Feb 12

Motivation and Personal Goals

In education, we wear many hats. In the Special Programs office, we also oversee the Multilingual Office. Most of our families speak Spanish or Portuguese. I went to college to support multilingual learners. Even though I was in a bilingual program and took Spanish 1-3, I struggled with learning Spanish. I could finally hear and translate what the teacher was saying in class, but when I was back in the group with mostly Spanish speakers, I would freeze. Then, my mother-in-law and I took a trip to Paraguay. She, as a teacher and fluent Spanish speaker, and myself as a student and Spanish language learner. I was there for three weeks and lived with a host…


Like

epagansanchez
Dec 11, 2023

Hi Denisa, thank you so much for sharing your experience with Language Acquisition and Mobile Assisted Language Learning Systems (MALLS). I can relate to your story since English is also my second language, and I have relied on technology to help me learn the language more effectively. However, I agree with you that connecting with the culture of the language is just as important as the technology itself. Without understanding the culture, it is difficult to truly master the language. It is essential to learn new languages in today's globalized world, and as an Instructional Designer, I believe that language skills can unlock a world of academic, professional, and cultural opportunities.

I completely agree with you. MALLS are a …


Like

jddelaparra
Dec 10, 2023

I agree with you that learning a new language is connected with getting connected with the culture because without one the other one will fail. Nowadays, many apps offer the possibility of learning a new language so people can communicate easily with others when living in a place that speaks a different language than the native one. Mobile apps. are a great help to learn vocabulary but not so good to create good scenarios. One important thing is to create activities that will help the learner interact with their surroundings on different occasions. The developers of language apps should get a better understanding of the basics of foreign language learning since even though the point is to learn the language…


Edited
Like
bottom of page